Media & Reviews

Deux Belettes, The French House,  has been featured in many media and online articles. Below is a selection.

Please click the links below to view more (external websites):

Reviews from Trip Advisor:

  • 5 star ratingA beautiful escape from the city I don’t usually take the time to leave reviews, however I just had to share the amazing weekend we spent at Deux Belettes.
    From the moment you walk through the beautiful big wooden door you experience just how much love and work has gone into building this amazing home.
    I feel very fortunate that Andrew and I got to experience this property, nestled away in the hinterlands we felt so far away from the stresses of work and everyday life in the city.
    It was wonderful to hear Ross and Sharon’s story of how the place has come to be what it is today and honestly the photos do not do it justice.

    I cannot thank you enough for having us, it was exactly what we needed and a very special way to spend an upcoming birthday. We hope to be back very soon.

    Sarah & Andrew

    sarahdT7494WA
    07/04/2019
  • 5 star ratingDream Wedding come to Life! Last weekend on May, 18th 2019 we got married at Deux Belettes.

    Words can’t describe how happy we were with this venue. Everything was absolutely perfect including the hospitality we received from the owners Sharon and Ross. They went over and beyond to make us feel welcome and to not only make our wedding day perfect but the night before and day after also. Both Sharon and Hayley (our wedding planner) catered to our dietary requirements and went out of their way and get myself and my bridesmaids dinner the night before the wedding which was so lovely.

    After our wedding celebrations were done we were even invited into Sharon and Ross’s home for a few night caps, cheese and crackers and some seriously funny conversations which was an amazing way to round off such a perfect day. They are both not only talented but also very down to earth and have a fantastic sense of humour. Those hours afterwards were spent sharing so many laughs!

    The next morning Sharon made us the most amazing gourmet breakfast which we enjoyed listening to beautiful French music in the main living area which is French themed of course. You would swear you were sitting in France.

    Words can’t describe the beauty of the venue and just how exquisite it is. You have to go there yourself to appreciate it.

    We used Hayley Cravigan as our wedding planner and can’t recommend her enough. She is so good at what she does and there’s no way we could of done it without her, not just on the day but the months before and even days afterwards she worked tirelessly to ensure we were happy.

    Highly recommend!

    Beanie25
    24/05/2019
  • 5 star ratingIf you're considering Deux Belettes, read this! We got married there three weeks ago and frankly, it was the best wedding I've ever been to!
    When the 'wedding planner' (yes, they exist, My very own Fronk) suggested that there was a French style country house in the hills behind Ballina, I instantly thought: oh god, some horrible pastiche build from Gyprock and cement made to look like stone. There would probably be an accordion propped up in the corner.
    I couldn't have been more wrong. The house itself is beautifully constructed over many years and looks like it's grown out of the hilltop on which it sits. The planting is magnificent and in the style of a proper chateau garden around the most magnificent mature magnolia tree.
    Inside the house the antiques are brilliantly curated with some wonderful pieces (and I know a bit about this stuff) and it's all put together with a savoir faire that makes feel both right for Provence but also Alstonville.
    But you pick a wedding venue on how it makes you feel. Well from the moment we saw it, my wife and I had no interest in seeing anything else and on the day, it proved truly magical. Sharon and her husband Ron and son Sven made sure the place looked just perfect and guests arriving by bus from Byron gasped as they got out of the coach to see what the place looked like fully rigged for the day.
    The final word goes to our international guests who came from London, San Francisco, Amsterdam, Brussells and even Wellington, who all said, independently of one another, that it was the most beautiful wedding, in the most beautiful place, they'd ever been to.
    Sure, there's a bit of self congratulation in there about my own wedding, but we couldn't have done it without Deux Belettes and it's owners.

    Adrian S
    22/05/2019
  • 5 star ratingOur elopement I was looking up Deux Belettes to gather some information for a friend of my daughters. My husband and I eloped in October 2015, while this is a late review 9 our events co-ordinator Tara-Lee did write a review) I did see some negative reviews from other consumers, while I cannot comment on other peoples experiences I would like to speak about ours. Due to unforeseen circumstances my husband and I had to change our elopement date numerous times and even our plane flight up was cancelled and we arrived extremely late and we found Sharon to be completely understanding and supportive. Deux Belettes is a very special place and a part of it is due to the conditions placed on it. Sharon and Ross allowed us to use her kitchen for our chef to make us seafood, allowed the cake decorator to pick some of their flowers to garnish our cake with and when Sharon and Ross knew I had a love of horses actually organised for their horse to be in some photo's with us. After our private dinner Sharon and Ross joined us for a few drinks and lots of laughs. I think if anyone is put off with some of the reviews please ring up Deux Belettes and speak to Sharon about it and you may not like the terms and conditions and it may not be a place for you, if you are the sort of person who likes to wing things then I don't believe that this is the place for you (not that there is anything wrong with winging things). This place is extraordinary and the photo's and our experience is something we will never forget.

    aussietravelers1
    02/08/2019
  • 5 star ratingBest luxury boutique hotel experience in Australia a 6 out of 5 Every so often I stumble across an absolute gem experience and here is my favourite for quite a while.

    A beautiful couple has laboured very hard to create a wonderful French chalet experience in the hinterland near Byron Bay and it is truly amazing.

    Every room is a labour of love and hand made. You can see the effort in every interior space by Sharon and her husband.

    It is like you have travelled to France to experience this ...

    My first tip to you is to remember that this is a farm and a wedding venue so they can afford to be selective and if you are booking a weekend then you need to be lucky as a wedding takes precedence for room bookings (as you’d expect). So my advice is to ask what weekends are free and be flexible.

    My next piece of advice is to remember that this is a venue for adults and if you have children they also need to be mature teenagers. You are living in a beautiful work of art so it is not suitable for young kids.

    The room costs include breakfast and that breakfast is pretty amazing. Sven was our host and he prepared for us a small feast of cereals and fruits and a hot cooked meal as well.

    This place is so beautiful it is booked far and wife by fashion photographers... it is like walking into a movie set it is that good. Go there ... Dream ... lose yourself ... and please say hi from Chris Monsour to Sven or Sharon if you read this and book them!!

    My humble photos do not do it justice.

    christophermfromaus
    10/05/2018
  • 5 star ratingDream wedding We were fortunate enough to have our wedding at Deux Belettes this past weekend.. I have never posted a review but our experience was so outstanding that I couldn’t not..
    I would not change one single thing if I could.. the venue is something out of a fairy tale & the hospitality of Sharon & Ross just took it to the next level.. I stayed the night before the wedding with my bridesmaids and my mum.. and the morning of the wedding had the most glorious breakfast that actually made one of my bridesmaids shed a tear..! French music, French rose in the most quaintest of settings had us feeling like we were in Paris..
    the day of the wedding nothing was too much trouble.. it became quite cool in the middle of the reception and Ross was running around setting up gas heaters so everyone was comfortable.. every single guest made some comment about how amazing the venue was..
    When planning your wedding here there are a few rules etc. but they are only to protect yourself and the venue.. seriously nothing in the contract effect the quality of what you experience..
    We could not recommend Deux Belettes enough & thoroughly enjoyed the company of Ross and Sharon throughout our stay.. if I could give 10 stars I would!!

    Danielle G
    13/05/2019
  • 5 star ratingAmazing service and amazing venue We had an amazing time working with Deux Belettes for a wedding we planned and styled on behalf of an overseas client. The venue itself is marvellous and unique in every way and guests were in complete awe from the moment they arrived.

    Sharon, Ross, Sven and Elka were wonderful hosts and did everything they could to ensure all the preparations, alongside the wedding went as smoothly as possible. They were unbelievably helpful when it came to all enquiries and we loved how considerate they were when it came to the little touches to show how much they cared.

    A big thank you in particular to Elka who went out of her way to research and prepare a traditional Chinese breakfast of congee for the wedding party (who were from China).

    Another big thank you to Sven who worked tirelessly from early morning until late night and made sure the grounds looked impeccable. Throughout the day he made sure leaves were raked and all staff and crew properly hydrated with drinks and took care of everyone when they were on their breaks - we couldn't have asked for better hospitality so thank you!

    We loved working with Deux Belettes and can't wait to go back to such a unique and stunning venue with a lovely team. Thank you Sharon and the team! More

    lilaczhang
    11/10/2019
  • 5 star ratingCannot Recommend Highly Enough My wife and I have just returned from an incredible 3 night stay at Deux Belettes and from the moment we arrived we knew we had found somewhere very special. This is a venue truly like no other. Sharon and Ross were warm and wonderful hosts - despite the unforgettable touches to our suite and the beauty of the surrounding venue, it is their hospitality that will live longest in our minds.

    The daily breakfast included in our stay was so enjoyable each morning (starting with freshly squeezed orange juice from their farm, fresh fruit, yoghurt and granola).

    The property entices you to stay and relax with a myriad of courtyards and other areas to unwind in, but at the same time provides a launchpad to explore the surrounding towns of Lismore, Alstonville, Byron, Bangalow et al.

    Highlight of the stay was meeting their son Sven and being invited to a late afternoon lunch in the courtyard with their wood-fire pizza oven. It's the kind of venue that makes you want to ask a thousand questions, and we spent the next few hours learning their story over a bottle of Moet and some of the best pizzas we'd ever tasted.

    Fascinating to hear how their family have slowly transformed the land into a working farm, accommodation and wedding venue brick-by-brick over 30+ years.

    We can't wait to return and encourage anyone reading this to book a stay with Deux Belettes.

    AdamHunter_LV
    20/08/2019